one day at a time

celebrating the new year (#2)

© Verena Fischer 2013

Already yesterday I posted a picture of the fireworks on New Year’s Eve. I took quite a few more pictures and thought I’d share some of them with you.

It is quite lucky that the nearest S-Bahn bridge has a view of the TV tower, which made this a proper Berlin experience, without having to brave the big crowds.

© Verena Fischer 2013

Our choice for the celebration: The Bösebrücke. Literally this means “evil bridge”. There was certainly enough smoke around to think the worst.

© Verena Fischer 2013

The youths were in a mood to endanger themselves. Throwing fireworks at each other wasn’t enough, they had to actually climb the bridge and walk the entire length. In some places it’s probably 10m high. Luckily nobody fell.

© Verena Fischer 2013

Some weren’t too crazy and just watched the spectacle from lofty heights.

© Verena Fischer 2013

Sparks were flying everywhere from the fireworks. People mostly kept their safe distance, although not everyone was playing it safe. Just in front of my house a bunch of girls were throwing fireworks at a bunch of guys who were walking past. The girls are always the worst.

© Verena Fischer 2013

Monkeying around on the bridge seemed to be the favourite pastime of those youths though. As always on New Year’s Eve there must have been thousands of guardian angels flying around …!

© Verena Fischer 2013

Well, we didn’t go to the city centre, but there still was a crowd. People gathered on the footpath and kept the street to those who were throwing the fireworks. Occasionally trams or cars would slowly drive past, but the street was quite empty over all.

© Verena Fischer 2013

We left when we were already really cold, since standing on a bridge exposes you to the wind. I was taking pictures, so my hands were just freezing. No wonder then that people were dancing just to keep themselves warm.

© Verena Fischer 2013

I really enjoyed this New Year’s Eve and this means quite something. Since my teenage years I’ve been haunted by bad luck with New Year’s Eve. Usually it turned into an absolute disaster, may it be through excessive end-of-the-year-blues, strange company, bad planning or other weird circumstances. This year it was thoroughly enjoyable and even the food, lambchops with glazed carrots (yum!), agreed well with me. I hope you guys had a fantastic start into the new year as well!

By the way, my favourite picture is the one right at the top. It took me quite a few shots to get the sparks from fireworks in there as well. All pictures were taken with my Canon EOS 450D and my Canon EF-S 55-250mm telephoto lens.

11 responses

  1. I really love these photos!!

    January 2, 2013 at 10:33 pm

  2. Tammy

    You captured the excitement of the evening perfectly!

    January 2, 2013 at 11:13 pm

    • Thanks Tammy! I found it very hard to get both the people and the fireworks into the picture. At least I managed with one picture, which is more than I expected🙂

      January 3, 2013 at 10:02 pm

  3. You’ve captured so much of that festive mood in these images, Ms. F! Very impressive (especially considering how dark and cold it was… there’s no way I could have hand-held those so well)!🙂

    January 3, 2013 at 5:04 pm

    • Thanks so much! Indeed, it was very dark. A lot of the firework pictures were blurred because of that. I actually deleted quite a few as well because they were no good. It’s also hard to estimate how much the image stabiliser can compensate if you only have the little viewscreen. I’m glad that at least a couple of the firework pictures turned out alright. I expected to delete them all!

      January 3, 2013 at 10:24 pm

  4. Fantastic sequence – very atmospheric and as with all firework celebrations a little eerie and pagan🙂

    January 3, 2013 at 8:32 pm

    • Thanks Richard! I’m glad you like them! And yes, eerie and pagan captures it, especially since we were celebrating on the “evil bridge”. New Year’s fireworks are never as eerie as bonfire night processions in Lewes though!🙂

      January 3, 2013 at 10:26 pm

      • Yes, indeed! There’s something a bit “wrong” about the ones in Lewes – I’ve never been, but a friend of mine said it was quite frightening🙂

        January 3, 2013 at 10:28 pm

      • I’ve only been once myself, because the crowds are just crazy. And since they are officially trying to shut it down every year there is almost no crowd control. The burning crosses are really quite crazy. The atmosphere is really great though with this old town all around, well worth a visit! I used to live in Lewes – just for a few months though.

        January 3, 2013 at 11:31 pm

  5. liramusic

    I think: national geo. You’re great!

    January 9, 2013 at 2:31 am

Leave a Reply

