one day at a time

the assistant (#384)

the assistant © Verena Fischer 2012

the assistant © Verena Fischer 2012

Camera: Canon EOS 450D | ISO : 200 | Focal Length: 55.0 mm | Aperture: 5.6 | Shutter Speed : 1/125

 

Well, wouldn’t it be great if we all had an assistant like that when it’s raining? Taking pictures in the rain with an umbrella slumped over one shoulder doesn’t really work that well. Or better, it’s not very comfortable at all and in fact very annoying. That generally means that I usually just keep the camera in the bag, unless I have an interesting subject like this in front of the lens.

One of these days I should also spend some time organising my pictures. By now I have lost track of which pictures I have posted where and had to go through quite a number of older posts to make sure that I’m not repeating myself with this one. I hope I didn’t overlook anything.

13 responses

  1. this is so sweet!

    September 4, 2012 at 2:15 am

  2. Great image! I love those photographer being photographed shots…🙂

    September 4, 2012 at 7:27 am

  3. Hahahaha…. that’s a cute little assistant !😛

    September 4, 2012 at 12:56 pm

  4. Great photo! Yes, my wife is my assistant (sometimes) and I’m her assistant (very oft). I like your B&W both from digital and from film. The subject you find are interesting and appropriate for B&W.
    robert

    September 4, 2012 at 7:05 pm

  5. Oh how often have I wished for an extra pair of hands! 🙂

    September 4, 2012 at 8:37 pm

  6. Love it!🙂

    September 4, 2012 at 10:02 pm

  7. Excellent photo Verena!!! I am envious of your street photos…around here are just farms and farm animals. B&W was the perfect choice with this shot!!!

    September 5, 2012 at 7:15 pm

  8. lol awesome🙂 Gotta keep’em busy somehow right? My assistant usually get’s relegated to holding my tripod!

    September 17, 2012 at 4:25 pm

  9. It’s a wonderful moment captured at the exactly right time. It’s sweet and funny, and yes, wouldn’t we all like a little assistant like that once in a while – at least when it’s raining. The posture of the woman is quite something! I like that you included the couple in the background. It adds depth to the picture. If you had closed in of the photographer and her assistant the picture would have been quite one-dimensional.

    September 18, 2012 at 10:23 am

  10. Lovely – who knows what he mght grow up to do after being an important part of someone else’s creativity! =D

    September 20, 2012 at 8:15 am

  11. It has been quite some time since last visiting your site Verna but as always I very much enjoy your continuing black and white experiments!

    September 25, 2012 at 5:51 pm

  12. Simple and funny image. I think the kid spotted you shooting them.🙂

    September 30, 2012 at 9:36 am

  13. Super composition and an interesting photo to study for details.

    October 3, 2012 at 3:31 am

Leave a Reply

