one day at a time

modern architecture (#374)

modern architecture © Verena Fischer 2012

modern architecture © Verena Fischer 2012

Camera: Zorki 3C | ISO : 400 | Focal Length: 50.0 mm | Film: Ilford HP5 Plus | #3

 

A little while ago I already wrote about 3D movies. I had seen Men in Black 3 in 3D and concluded that new 3D technology has really advanced in comparison to some of my previous experiences with 3D. Considering that I have been interested in Virtual Reality technology for quite some time I have seen quite a number of 3D labs and installations, among them the CAVE system. All of those systems seem rather dated now when it comes to the visual effect. Men in Black 3D really impressed me in that respect. Although re-rendered rather than filmed in 3D it still was quite spectacular.

Yesterday I had the opportunity to improve upon that experience because we went to see the newest Alien movie Prometheus, which was filmed in 3D. I have to say that I was rather hesitant, since I’m not really made for scary movies. I’ve never managed to get through the first Alien movie, since it was just too scary for me. However, it turns out that Prometheus isn’t really scary at all. Of course there are some suspense moments, where you know that someone is going to die a rather horrible death, but the continuous suspense and anguish of the first Alien movie just wasn’t there. Good for me, but maybe not what most people would suspect.

I also have to say that the story could have been much better. At times you really wonder why these people make such obvious textbook mistakes. Imagine you’re on an alien planet. Would you take your helmet off just because the air is breathable? I wouldn’t, but the characters in this movie do, despite being portrayed as scientists. In fact most of the characters, apart from being one-dimensional and partly rather irrelevant to the story, don’t really behave as they should. The archeologists believe in superstitious nonsense, the biologist doesn’t know anything about the immune system and the geologist can’t find his way around a cave. What struck me as weird was also that the robot displays some sort of twisted humour despite being supposedly incapable of feelings — although this might actually be what makes the character less one-dimensional than most other characters in the movie. There are just too many inconsistencies generally for the story to be good, but to be honest the shallow character development was even more striking. There are only two characters who show more than one dimension, which means that you just don’t care so much about the rest of them. Most of them don’t get to be much more than extras meant to be killed off.

However, despite these very obvious flaws I still recommend that you go see this movie. Why? Well, despite the rather uninspired writing I have to say that the visual side really makes up for the weak story, additionally to the quite good acting performance of Noomi Rapace and Michael Fassbender playing the main characters. And even if you don’t go for women heroes or robots I really have to insist that visually it’s in fact just amazing! If you want to feel like you’re in a space ship or on an alien planet, then this is the movie for you. 3D really is fantastic for the science fiction genre and this truly seems like a step into the right direction. I believe 3D is the future for movies and soon we will see even more of these kind of amazing visuals.

What I don’t understand is that they have tons of money to throw at the visual effects, but can’t pay for a decent screenwriter. Considering how expensive visual effects are, the writing must amount to a drop in a sea, budget-wise. Good consistent writing could have made this movie brilliant, but this way it almost only amounts to the visuals. The story is not terrible enough to make the movie unwatchable, but it isn’t particularly good either. I hope they do a better job on the sequel, which the ending definitely makes possible.

Since I was out with my Zorki yesterday I show you an older shot from the area surrounding the cinema. The picture shows the quite impressive Deutsche Bahn tower next to the Sony Center here in Berlin.

2 responses

  1. I really, really, like this, Ms. F…
    particularly the contrast between the hard/imposing glass/steel and the warmer quality of it being so brightly lit on the inside vs. the darker outside + how it fades away so softly…

    August 23, 2012 at 6:07 pm

  2. Very nice shot, and a great review – I’d actually mentally written the film off before reading this.

    August 23, 2012 at 10:29 pm

Leave a Reply

