one day at a time

day 318: the bike

the bike © Verena Fischer 2012

the bike © Verena Fischer 2012

 

Another one of these idyllic suburban shots. This is surprising actually, since I went to Düsseldorf yesterday. I took a few pictures in Düsseldorf, when walking around and later at tango, but I really like this shot, mainly because of the nice light. I took it on my way home from tango in a quiet side street here in suburban Kaarst.

I was very tired at that point, because I had to run all the way from the tanzhaus  to the station. I was dancing just a few minutes too long and just about made it before the train left the station. It would have been a bit of a problem to miss it, since it was actually the last train. The next one would have been at 5 am in the morning, so 5 hours later. Silly me!

13 responses

  1. liramusic

    nice picture; nice story; sublime

    June 27, 2012 at 11:12 pm

  2. So serene…

    June 28, 2012 at 8:33 am

    • Thank you Scott! I agree, during the night it’s actually quiet in suburbia, so that’s a plus. During daytime it’s actually annoying though with lawnmowers and loud neighbours. And thanks for stopping by🙂

      June 28, 2012 at 10:52 am

      • Cheers Verena!

        June 28, 2012 at 4:13 pm

  3. Glad to know that you got home.🙂

    June 28, 2012 at 4:08 pm

    • Thanks cocomino🙂 It would have been a bit of a problem if I had missed the train!

      June 30, 2012 at 8:46 am

  4. Happy to hear you made the train, Ms. F…
    you certainly never miss the shot.🙂

    June 28, 2012 at 7:41 pm

    • Thanks🙂 Didn’t happen to me for the first time. I often forget the time when it comes to tango!

      June 30, 2012 at 8:48 am

  5. Tammy

    I am really drawn to this composition, it could be anywhere at anytime! Awesome!

    June 29, 2012 at 3:56 pm

    • Thanks Tammy🙂 Still surprising that even in suburbia such nice scenes can be found😉 To be honest I think the geometry of the shot is very particular to suburbia actually. Where else would you get one single free standing tree like this?

      June 30, 2012 at 9:13 am

  6. Oh, I do like the “silky” feel of this photograph. I am enjoying your night photographs. They are my favorites always, but I don’t see many of them around.

    July 1, 2012 at 10:29 pm

    • Thanks again George. I’m definitely a fan of night photography. Somehow people tend to think that you need lots of light for photography, but low light definitely makes for interesting dynamic ranges though.

      July 9, 2012 at 10:36 am

Leave a Reply

