one day at a time

day 306: vespa sprint

vespa sprint © Verena Fischer 2012

vespa sprint © Verena Fischer 2012

 

Yesterday we walked along my favourite street in my old neighbourhood, Elberfelder Straße, in Moabit. Oh how I’d love to live there! As we went along I took some pictures, both with my Canon as well as my Zorki. To see how the two compare I took the same pictures with the Canon that I took also with the Zorki. For this reason I was also not yet using my new light meter, but instead I was just taking the picture with the Canon first and then took similar settings for the Zorki. This process actually made me slow down quite a bit and I picked my subjects and the frame more carefully, since I didn’t want to take more than one picture per subject on the Zorki. By taking the same pictures on the Canon and on the Zorki I also have it easier to keep a record of how I took the picture. Once I get the film developed I can learn from how the pictures turned out.  Well, a whole new process of learning.

5 responses

  1. liramusic

    Love this photo. (I have a Metropolitan scooter.)

    June 15, 2012 at 8:28 pm

    • Thanks liramusic. I always wanted to get a licence for a scooter, but since I didn’t do it when I was 16, it doesn’t make sense now. I find scooters beautiful though. I always take pictures of them, mostly of vespas.

      June 15, 2012 at 11:55 pm

  2. Very cool!
    And a great idea for comparison sake / learning about your new equipment! That is definitely a nice thing about film photography… when it’s not so easy to quickly delete away an image it really gets me more ‘involved’ in the whole process, I think… usually.

    June 18, 2012 at 5:51 pm

    • Yeah, it definitely makes every picture count a little bit more! I like how film makes me slow down and really think about the shot. Maybe that will go away with more practice, but it’s definitely changing my perspective now.

      June 19, 2012 at 12:54 am

  3. Pingback: ‘vespa sprint’ on film – colour « experiments in experience

Leave a Reply

