one day at a time

day 283: beam me up

beam me up © Verena Fischer 2012

beam me up © Verena Fischer 2012

 

Once during the many times that I travelled between England and Germany I had this item in my hand luggage. The security officer checking the luggage muttered “What the f*** is that?!” and then pulled my bag out to search it. He took this strange item out, turned it this way and that, but still couldn’t figure out what it was. I said “It’s a USB stick!” and he said “No way!”

“May I?” I asked. After he was sufficiently convinced that it wasn’t a weapon, he handed me the thing. I pulled the cap off and indeed, it was a USB stick. They sold the newest Star Trek movie on it a few years back and when I saw a friend with this thing, I just had to have it. Call me geeky if you like, but in general it’s just a really nice object, very heavy and solid and it’s a really unusual shape for a USB stick as well.

4 responses

  1. That is just too cool!!! I want one!!!

    June 4, 2012 at 10:03 pm

  2. Brilliant.

    June 4, 2012 at 10:24 pm

  3. Nice! I’ve never seen one like that before!

    June 7, 2012 at 7:59 pm

    • That’s precisely why I had to have it! I don’t even use USB sticks much to be honest.

      June 7, 2012 at 8:15 pm

Leave a Reply

