one day at a time

day 216: la torre di guardia

la torre di guardia © Verena Fischer 2012

la torre di guardia © Verena Fischer 2012

 

When the Italian Jehovas Witnesses came to my door I was first unsure what to make of them, since they asked me about the name on the door bell first. Only when they started talking about free magazines I realised that it was them. They gave me the Watchtower in Italian and for a brief moment I was absolutely sure that they must be some sort of government spies or something. Well, paranoia can be healthy as well …!

All in all an absolutely surreal experience. Made me realise how international Berlin really is.

8 responses

  1. You are right, sometimes paranoia can be very healthy!

    May 10, 2012 at 8:51 am

    • Indeed. I’m only slightly paranoid though … well, apart from when it comes to zombies or the apocalypse maybe.

      May 16, 2012 at 9:09 am

  2. Italian Jehovas Witnesses in Berlin? There’s a combo that surely incites suspicion. 🙂

    May 10, 2012 at 1:26 pm

    • You’re totally right. It was well weird! Although … I think in the 60s a lot of Italian guest workers came to Germany, so on some level it’s not all that surprising. And Berlin is a strange place in any case. During the 80s a lot of musicians and artists from all over the world lived in West Berlin. So, around here I’m never quite surprised about anything that happens.

      May 16, 2012 at 9:11 am

  3. Some great D.O.F. came from answering that knock, Ms. F!

    May 10, 2012 at 5:03 pm

    • I should probably still get rid of the magazine, people might get the wrong impression 😉

      May 16, 2012 at 9:14 am

  4. I have to agree with imagesbytdashfield!

    May 11, 2012 at 9:19 pm

Leave a Reply

