one day at a time

day 167: even intelligent bunnies watch cartoons

even intelligent bunnies watch cartoons © Verena Fischer 2012

even intelligent bunnies watch cartoons © Verena Fischer 2012

Last week when I came home from tango at half past 4 at night I found Señor Bunny watching cartoons, I just had to take a picture!

I surely have to admit that I don’t always believe in Emil Bunny’s independence – he sometimes seems as if someone is putting words into his mouth and as if his movements are somewhat controlled by someone else. However, he seems to be sufficiently independent to end up sitting in front of my computer pawing the keyboard. He also strikes me as looking at the world with his own little cheeky grin.

He likes to watch some films, mostly the intellectual ones, together with me, while he’s not interested in others, like for example Jurassic Park. Last night when Jurassic Park 2 was on he was sitting on my bed reading a book instead. I asked him why he didn’t want to join me and he explained to me at length that he sympathizes with finding entertainment in human beings screaming and running for their lives, but once you’ve seen one of those monster films, you have seen them all. There are only so many ways you can be dismembered by giant teeth and claws. “Boring”, he said, with his funny high cartoon voice and carried on to explain that he prefers monster films that don’t pretend to have a scientific basis. No genetics, no chaos theory, just plain Godzilla stomping out of the sea screaming, soldiers being eaten, that sort of stuff. “Ah, come on, you watch intellectual stuff too, Señor Bunny!”, I said, “I saw you last week watching Persepolis”! He nodded and said: “Ah, you’re not paying attention, honey, I just don’t like *pseudo-intellectual* bullshit that is trying to explain scientific theories to morons, just so that they can have Dinosaurs eating humans in their backyards! As if fiction necessarily has to be *believable*, it’s ridiculous!”

Yes, Señor Bunny, I know, but still you chuckle when someone is getting his head bitten off by a gigantic monster. We all enjoy that. Personally I like it when my toy bunny pretends to be an intellectual wise ass. Maybe I should get a gigantic toy dinosaur to keep him company though …

5 responses

  1. Take great care of you !!
    You never know what a rabbit can do !!

    😉

    February 3, 2012 at 9:37 pm

  2. Great post Verena!

    February 4, 2012 at 8:57 pm

  3. Muy bueno, senorita!
    🙂

    February 6, 2012 at 5:55 pm

  4. SaptarshiC

    My cat does that sometimes. She would sit on my lap and stare at the screen when I’m watching movies.

    February 7, 2012 at 7:27 am

  5. Cool shot

    February 9, 2012 at 2:40 pm

Leave a Reply

