one day at a time

day 110: city lion

city lion © Verena Fischer 2011

city lion © Verena Fischer 2011

I found this majestic creature almost next to the court house in a side street of Turmstraße. I thought he’d make a great picture and I was right. A bit of sharpening and some tweaks here and there and I was happy with it. I already took a picture of this statue some time ago, but I just couldn’t get it to work. These days I really feel that I’ve made some progress over the last few months of writing this blog. After taking the picture I went to a café across from the court house where I also sat the other day reading Mascha Kaléko. This time I was writing. It’s quite astounding that I can’t feel I can concentrate when I’m listening to any music with lyrics – even tango -, but that I can work perfectly fine in a café with lots of people talking around me. Strange!

10 responses

  1. maybe because music tugs more on the emotions and involves more of you than just people chatter… Great photo

    November 30, 2011 at 2:07 pm

  2. Nice composition – the low point of view works really well.

    November 30, 2011 at 3:03 pm

  3. awesome!

    November 30, 2011 at 5:12 pm

  4. Awesome photo!

    November 30, 2011 at 5:41 pm

  5. Love the lion. Rawr! I want one for my front yard!

    November 30, 2011 at 6:13 pm

  6. Great photo Verena! I found I can write or focus better with classical music way better than music with words too!

    November 30, 2011 at 7:42 pm

  7. that is a great angle and point-of-view

    November 30, 2011 at 9:04 pm

  8. As everyone has already pointed out, you’ve done an amazing job of adding to the ‘power’ of this sculpture with your composition/P.O.V… awesome!

    December 1, 2011 at 6:40 pm

  9. mB

    I, too, like the POV and the texture in the lion.

    December 3, 2011 at 6:00 pm

Leave a Reply

