one day at a time

day 97: steeple and flying bird

steeple and flying bird © Verena Fischer

steeple and flying bird © Verena Fischer

On Wednesday I had a last driving lesson before my 4 hour drive on roads connecting smaller cities and villages. It gave me a reason to go out during the day and I wandered around after I had finished driving around town. On the way to the supermarket I took some pictures with my telephoto lens and had to notice that it was already getting too dark for it. I had to make a considerable effort to hold the camera steady after not having used that lens in a while. In the dark it’s not much use so with these gloomy days and dark nights I have been relying on my 18-55mm lens. Although I’m not very happy with the results from this venture, because I had too many shaky pictures, I’m quite glad that I decided to look up. Finally I found a perspective for the steeple of the nearby church which wasn’t entirely boring. Without the bird it would be only half as interesting though. Postcard church views or beach sunsets are just so incredibly boring if you don’t give them some additional twist.

9 responses

  1. perfect scene

    November 18, 2011 at 4:25 pm

  2. I really like this image!

    November 18, 2011 at 4:30 pm

  3. Linear distortion can be distracting yet this image has such brilliant balance with the hawk! Well done.

    November 18, 2011 at 4:43 pm

  4. I love that this photo is somewhere, though it could be anywhere. It even reminds me of a part of a steeple from La Sagrada Familia. Lovely.

    November 18, 2011 at 5:24 pm

  5. Super!!! And I couldn’t agree more!!!

    November 18, 2011 at 5:24 pm

  6. Madelaine

    Love this…..b & w is the perfect choice.

    November 20, 2011 at 7:11 pm

  7. So serene!
    It’s kind of funny… I could be on the face of the sun and I’d still need a tripod (even if I wasn’t doing telephoto stuff)!
    🙂

    November 22, 2011 at 12:30 am

  8. Very beautiful and impressive picture, oh I like that! FATman

    December 2, 2011 at 9:46 pm

  9. Interesting details in the surface of that steeple. Great catch with the bird element!

    December 17, 2011 at 10:49 pm

Leave a Reply

