one day at a time

day 25: fire shadows

fire shadows

fire shadows © Verena Fischer 2011

Yesterday I was on the phone to a friend looking out of the window. I said to him “Sorry, I need to go, the sky just turned into fire”. I grabbed my camera and was out of the door. However, I knew that I would miss the moment before I would reach a spot where I had a clear view onto the sunset. I should have gone out the door when the sky started getting a yellowish tint. Well, could have, would have, should have … and indeed I missed the moment and it was already almost dark when I reached the nearest bridge. However, yesterday’s picture has at least a hint of what it was looking like in the sky.

Also, I have good news: I finally finished my MSc dissertation! This morning I wrote the conclusions and then sent it to my supervisor to have a quick look at it. Meanwhile I will be going to England. In fact I need to take the public transport to the airport in about two hours. The airport I have to go to is at the other end of town and it will take me about an hour to get there. Annoying, since I live about ten minutes from the other airport in Berlin.

There is actually one thing I’m worried about: I’m only taking hand-luggage and I have my tango shoes in there. They have 10 cm heels and I wouldn’t be surprised if they’d consider them as a weapon …

8 responses

  1. I’m sorry to confirm that girls and women with 10 cm heels can be dangerous 🙂
    A part of this I like very much your photo, which has a modern pictorial look. I would say one of your best. The shadows on the walls are soft enough to be seen like part of a dream and the geometric frame of the window/door bring us back to reality. Well done!
    robert

    September 6, 2011 at 2:18 pm

    • Thanks so much Robert! I sometimes find it hard to assess the quality of my pictures, since I wasn’t so sure about this one at all, but people seem to like it! Maybe it’s the noise from the high ISO that is not to my liking, I don’t know, but the longer I look at it the more I like it actually 🙂

      September 8, 2011 at 12:07 pm

  2. This photo has a creepy, JG Ballard feel to it – I love it.

    September 6, 2011 at 2:35 pm

  3. Ok… I thought I was subscribed to your blog… that is strange. Is there something going on with WordPress because mine is different now… like they updated it or something. Anyways, I love your work and I love this photograph! I love that you saw the sky turn to fire… I love the hint of shadows you captured and even though you think you missed the moment, this moment is still just as wonderful… just a different moment. And I think that’s pretty cool. Great work as usual and congrats on finishing your dissertation. 🙂

    September 6, 2011 at 4:26 pm

    • Thank you Polly 🙂 Don’t know whether there is something going on wordpress. I also heard from other people that they were having problems, but for me all seems normal.
      Sometimes it’s good to miss the right moment, because there will be other ones that are just as great 🙂

      September 8, 2011 at 12:05 pm

  4. This really does have a very nice glow… for missing the sunset you sure were able to represent it’s effects well, here!
    Congrats on finishing your dissertation! I hope you have a safe and fun trip! 🙂

    September 6, 2011 at 7:42 pm

    • Thanks! I have to say that this shot felt very rushed to me. Maybe it was the stress of the day, but I feel just lucky that it turned out so well.
      I’m so glad my dissertation is finished and all handed in now!

      September 8, 2011 at 12:00 pm

Leave a Reply

